Assembly Constituency Watch: Korei


Korei assembly constituency is located in Jajpur district and consists of:  

Byasanagar, Korei block and 9 GPs (Bhotaka, Laxminagar, Pahanga, Badakainchi, Gandhan, Tikarpada, Bahadalpur, Narasinghpur and Mugupal) of Rasulpur block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Korei | Machine Dalal
Korei Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 174912 and the turnout stood at 75.86 %, in real numbers- 132681 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 198069 electors, 74.35% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-147258 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Korei | Machine Dalal
Korei Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Ashok Kumar Bal gained a vote share of 49.90% and defeated BJP’s Biswajeet Nayak whose vote share stood at 29.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Bandita Parida with 19.30% of vote share and BSP’s Kajal Kinnar with 1.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Korei |Meradesh
Korei Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Korei | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 73966 votes and 73403 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 31099 votes in 2014 and 28486 votes in 2019 while BJP received 15761 votes in 2014 and 42679 votes in 2019. BSP got 1497 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Jajpur in 2019 by winning all 7 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –