Assembly Constituency Watch: Kodinar


Kodinar assembly constituency is located in Gir Somnath district and consists of:  

Kodinar Taluka 

Una Taluka (Part) Villages – Kansariya, Jamvala, Bhakha, Thordi, Babariya, Sanvav, Jaragli, Ankolali, Panderi, Dhrabavad, Velakot, Jhanjhariya, Sonpura, Bhiyal, Bodidar, Kaneri, Maghardi, Ambavad, Kanakiya, Simasi, Ranvasi, Bhebha, Madhgam, Revad, Lerka, Chikhli, Sokhda, Kajardi, Kob, Bhingran, Tad 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kodinar | Machine Dalal
Kodinar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 184653 and the turnout stood at 70.27%, in real numbers- 129761 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 207270 electors, 67.03% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-138937 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Kodinar Electoral Turnout Rates
Kodinar Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Mohanlal Malabhai Vala gained a vote share of 52.12% and defeated BJP’s Vadher Rambhai Mepabhai whose vote share stood at 41.65%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BMUP’s Vinodbhai Khimabhai Solanki with 1.28% vote share. 1.72% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kodinar |Meradesh
Kodinar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Kodinar | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 63319 votes which decreased to 57873 votes in 2017 and cost the party election. On the other hand, INC garnered 54842 votes in 2012 and increased its count to 72408 votes to win in 2017. INC swept the district of Gir Somanth in 2017 by winning all the seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –