Assembly Constituency Watch: Katargam


 Katargam assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Surat City Taluka (Part) – Surat Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 38, 39, 40, 41, 42. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Katargam | Machine Dalal
Katargam Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 241336 and the turnout stood at 68.74%, in real numbers- 165887 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 277541 electors, 65.09% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-180663 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Katargam , Panchmahal | Machine Dalal
Katargam Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner,  BJP’s Vinodbhai Amarshibhai Moradiya gained a vote share of 69.40% and defeated INC’s Jignesh Jivani (Mevasa) whose vote share stood at 25.55%. The remaining candidate in the fray was AAAP’s Nagajibhai B. Ambaliya with 2.29% vote share. 0.94% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Katargam |Meradesh
Katargam Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Katargam | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 88604 votes that increased to 125387 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 45332votes in 2012 and 46157 votes in 2017. AAAP got 4135 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC scored 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –