Assembly Constituency Watch: Karjan


 Karjan assembly constituency is located in Vadodara district and consists of:  

Karjan Taluka – Entire taluka except village – Umaj 

Sinor Taluka 

Vadodara Taluka (Part) Villages – Karali, Itola, Vadsala, Untiya (Kajapur), Por, Raman Gamdi, Gosindra, Untiya (Medhad), Sarar, Kashipura, Ankhi, Fajalpur (Ankhi) 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Karjan | Machine Dalal
Karjan Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 179877 and the constituency recorded 78.60% of polling, in real numbers- 141375 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 198209 electors, 77.59% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-153782 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Karjan , Panchmahal | Machine Dalal
Karjan Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Akshay Kumar Iswarbhai Patel gained a vote share of 48.18% and defeated BJP’s Satishbhai Motibhai Patel whose vote share stood at 45.86%. The remaining candidate in the fray was JD(U)’s Mukeshbhai Manibhai Vasava with 0.80Vote share. 1.86% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Karjan |Meradesh
Karjan Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Karjan| Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 68225 votes that increased to 70523 votes in 2017 but the party failed to retain the seat. On the other hand, INC garnered 64736 votes in 2012 and 74087 votes in 2017 to win the election. BJP dominated the district of Vadodara in 2017 by winning 8 seats.  INC managed to secure 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –