Assembly Constituency Watch: Kakatpur


Kakatpur assembly constituency is located in Puri district and consists of:  

Konark, Kakatpur block, Astarang block and 13 Gram panchayats (Jangalbori, Birtung, Baulanga, Desthali, Dhumala, Sorava, Mahalapada, Achutapur, Banakhandi, Simmili, Sutan, Tarakora and Badagaon) of Gop block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kakatpur | Machine Dalal
Kakatpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 221663 and the turnout stood at 70.68%, in real numbers- 156671 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decresae in turnout; out of the 242454 electors, 70.30% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-170444 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Kakatpur | Machine Dalal
Kakatpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Tusharkanti Behera gained a vote share of 53.90% and defeated INC’s Biswa Bhushan Das whose vote share stood at 27.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Rabi Mallick with 18.10% of vote share and BSP’s Chhabi Mallick with 0.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kakatpur |Meradesh
Kakatpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kakatpur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 89963 votes and 91897 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 48933 votes in 2014 and 46206 votes in 2019 while BJP received 12093 votes in 2014 and 30771 votes in 2019. BSP got 938 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Puri in 2019 by winning 4 seats. BJP managed to secure 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –