Assembly Constituency Watch: Jatani


Jatani assembly constituency is located in Khordha district and consists of:  

Jatani, Jatani block and 6 Gram panchayats (Gadahaladia, Keranga, Malipur, Tangiapada, Pubusahi and Nalipada-Arjunpur) of Khurda block and 3 GPs (Padhanasahi, Chandaka, Darutheng, Andharua, Paikerapur, Mendhasal, Tamando, Nanput, Kantabad and Patrapada) of Bhubaneswar block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jatani | Machine Dalal
Jatani Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 206518 and the turnout stood at 70.44%, in real numbers- 145469 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 237858 electors, 66.86% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-159029 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jatani | Machine Dalal
Jatani Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, INC’s Suresh Kumar Rautray gained a vote share of 43.30% and defeated BJD’s Bibhuti Bhushan Balabantray whose vote share stood at 38.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Biswaranjan Badajena with 16.50% of vote share and BSP’s Basanta Kumar Naik with 0.70% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jatani |Meradesh
Jatani Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jatani | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jatani | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 60976 votes and 61319 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 55229 votes in 2014 and 68841 votes in 2019 while BJP received 17085 votes in 2014 and 26256 votes in 2019. BSP got 1121 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Khordha in 2019 by winning 7 seats while INC won the remaining 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –