Assembly Constituency Watch: Jamnagar South


 Jamnagar South assembly constituency is located in Jamnagar district and consists of:  

Jamnagar Taluka (Part) – Jamnagar Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 6, 7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jamnagar South| Machine Dalal
Jamnagar South Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electorates was 184141 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 65.78%, in real numbers- 121128 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 206582 electorates, 65.02% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-134315 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Jamnagar South | Machine Dalal
Jamnagar South Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Ranchhodbhai Chanabhai Faldu (R.C.Faldu) gained a vote share of 53.40% and defeated INC’s Ashok Lal whose vote share stood at 41.22%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Ashvinbhai Nathabhai Chavda with 1.21% Vote share. 1.73 of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jamnagar South|Meradesh
Jamnagar South Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Jamnagar South | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 55894 votes that increased to 71718 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 53032 votes in 2012 and 55369 votes in 2017. BSP got 1627 votes in 2017. INC emerged as the leading party in the district of Jamnagar by winning 3 seats while BJP scored 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –