Assembly Constituency Watch: Jaleswar


Jaleswar assembly constituency is located in Baleshwar district and consists of:  

Jaleswar, Jaleswar block and 11 GPs (Natakata, Purusottampur, Kulida, Santoshpur, Raghunathpur, Chormara, Singla, Paunsakulli, Tadada, Putura and Nabara) of Basta block.[ 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jaleswar | Machine Dalal
Jaleswar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 212879 and the turnout stood at 77.42%, in real numbers- 164807 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 237287 electors, 74.03% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-175661 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jaleswar | Machine Dalal
Jaleswar Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Aswini Kumar Patra gained a vote share of 48.60% and defeated BJP’s Jaynarayan Mohanty whose vote share stood at 28.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sudarsan Das with 19.90% of vote share and an independent candidate Madhu Sudan Das with 1.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jaleswar |Meradesh
Jaleswar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jaleswar | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jaleswar | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 86084votes and 85435 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 52224 votes in 2014 and 35026 votes in 2019 while BJP received 13465 votes in 2014 and 49992 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Baleshwar in 2019 by winning 6 seats while 2 seats went to BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –