Assembly Constituency Watch: Jajpur


Jajpur assembly constituency is located in Jajpur district and consists of:  

Jajpur, 16 GPs (Basudevpur, Beruda, Bhubaneswarpur, Bhuinpur, Bichitrapur, Chainipur, Jahanpur, Khairabad, Mala Anandapur, Markandapur, Nathasahi, Panasa, Maheswarpur, Shyamadaspur, Similia and Upparbaruhan) of Jajpur block and 16 GPs (Susua, Duduranta, Kanikapada, Mangalpur, Akarapada, Champeipal, Chhachina, Chittalo, Dasrathpur, Gopalpur, Kasapa, Katikata, Khandara, Mallikapur, Taliha and Tarpada) of Dasarathpur block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jajpur | Machine Dalal
Jajpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 209196 and the turnout stood at 72.19%, in real numbers- 151026 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 233889 electors, 70.42% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-164706 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jajpur | Machine Dalal
Jajpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Pranab Prakash Das gained a vote share of 60.60% and defeated BJP’s Goutam Ray whose vote share stood at 35.90%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Santosh Kumar Nanda with 2.90% of vote share and an independent candidate Pradeep Kumar Behuria with 0.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jajpur |Meradesh
Jajpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jajpur | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jajpur | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 104458 votes and 99738 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 19845 votes in 2014 and 4745 votes in 2019 while BJP received 17180 votes in 2014 and 59082 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Jajpur in 2019 by winning all 7 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –