Assembly Constituency Watch: Hindol


Hindol assembly constituency is located in Dhenkanal district and consists of:  

Hindol block and Odapada block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Hindol | Machine Dalal
Hindol Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 231267and the turnout stood at 73.06%, in real numbers- 168974 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 254217 electors, 71.76% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-182427 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Hindol | Machine Dalal
Hindol Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Simarani Nayak gained a vote share of 51.50% and defeated BJP’s Ashok Kumar Nayak whose vote share stood at 41.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Trinath Behera with 5.10% of vote share and BSP’s Chandan Naik with 0.80% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Hindol |Meradesh
Hindol Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Hindol | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Hindol | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 84351 votes and 93980 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 33852 votes in 2014 and 75075 votes in 2019 while INC received 30978 votes in 2014 and 9366 votes in 2019. BSP got 1470 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Dhenkanal in 2019 by winning all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –