Assembly Constituency Watch: Gunupur


Gunupur assembly constituency is located in Rayagada district and consists of:  

Gunupur, Gudari, Gunupur block, Ramanaguda block, Padmapur block, Chandrapur block and Gudari block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Gunupur | Machine Dalal
Gunupur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 193573 and the turnout stood at 73.91%, in real numbers- 143079 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 210477 electors, 68.33% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a slight jump-143828 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Gunupur | Machine Dalal
Gunupur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Raghunath Gomango gained a vote share of 34.00% and defeated INC’s Purusottam Gomango whose vote share stood at 29.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Shishir Gamang with 11.50% of vote share and an independent candidate with 18.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gunupur |Meradesh
Gunupur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gunupur | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gunupur | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 59527 votes and 48839 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 52141 votes in 2014 and 42569 votes in 2019 while BJP received 15596 votes in 2014 and 16491 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Rayagada in 2019 by winning 2 seats while 1 seat was won by independent candidate.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –