Assembly Constituency Watch: Gandhinagar North


Gandhinagar North assembly constituency is located in Gandhinagar district and consists of:  

Gandhinagar Taluka (Part) Villages – Rupal, Vasan, Unava, Pindharada, Piplaj, Randheja, Sonipur, Sardhav, Jalund, Adraj Moti, Kolavada, Pethapur, Vavol, Gandhinagar (NAC). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Gandhinagar North | Machine Dalal
Gandhinagar North Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 203934 and the turnout stood at 73.47%, in real numbers- 149822 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 232536, 69.87% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-162471 voters.    

Representation and Results 

Party Wise Vote Share | Gandhinagar North | Machine Dalal
Gandhinagar North Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Dr. C. J. Chavda gained a vote share of 48.14% and defeated BJP’s Ashokkumar Ranchhodbhai Patel whose vote share stood at 45.20%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Raj Prajapati with a 0.69% of Vote share. 1.80% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Gandhinagar North Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Gandhinagar North Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Gandhinagar North | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 73551 votes which decreased to 73432 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 69326 votes in 2012 and 78206 votes to win the 2017 election. INC dominated the district of Gandhinagar in 2017 by winning 3 seats. BJP scored 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –