Assembly Constituency Watch: Ellisbridge


 Ellisbridge assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

  • Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad 
  • Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 7, 8, 9, 10. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Ellisbridge | Machine Dalal
Ellisbridge Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 223386 and the turnout stood at 67.70%, in real numbers- 151222 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 244140 electors, 64.32% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-157022 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Ellisbridge | Machine Dalal
Ellisbridge Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Shah Rakeshbhai Jaswantlal gained a vote share of 74.39% and defeated  INC’s Dave Vijaykumar Ratilal whose vote share stood at 20.13%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Solanki Malabhai Hirabhai with 1.37% Vote share. 2.22% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Shift In Votes | Ellisbridge | Machine Dalal
Ellisbridge Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Ellisbridge | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 106631 votes which increased to 116811 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 29959 votes in 2012 and 31606 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –