Assembly Constituency Watch: Digapahandi


Digapahandi assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Digapahandi, Digapahandi block and 16 Gram panchayats (Rohigam, Baulajholi, Kukudakhandi, Masiakhali, Jagadalpur, Ankushpur, Dakshinapur, Ballipada, Dengapadar, Bontapalli, Anantayi, Lathi, Mohuda, Kankia, Sahala and Baghalati) of Kukudakhandi block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Digapahandi | Machine Dalal
Digapahandi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 188024 and the turnout stood at 68.32%, in real numbers- 128466 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 214449 electors, 62.97% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-135047 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Digapahandi | Machine Dalal
Digapahandi Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Surjya Narayan Patro gained a vote share of 55.60% and defeated BJP’s Pinky Pradhan whose vote share stood at 25.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Prafulla Panda with 13.20% of vote share and an independent candidate Uttam Kumar Panigrahi with 3.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Digapahandi |Meradesh
Digapahandi Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Digapahandi | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Digapahandi | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 78949 votes and 75016 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 33052 votes in 2014 and 17815 votes in 2019 while BJP received 7771 votes in 2014 and 34564 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –