Assembly Constituency Watch: Dhrangadhra


Dhrangadhra assembly constituency is located in Surendranagar district and consists of:  

  • Dhrangadhra Taluka 
  • Halvad Taluka 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Dhrangadhra | Machine Dalal
Dhrangadhra Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 243687 and the turnout stood at 75.53%, in real numbers- 184049 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 276771 electors, 70.59% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-195383 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Dhrangadhra | Machine Dalal
Dhrangadhra Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Parsotam Ukabhai Sabariya gained a vote share of 49.72% and defeated BJP’s Sonagra Jerambhai Dhanjibhai whose vote share stood at 42.59%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Mobatkhan Alamkhan Malek with 1.05% Vote share. 2.29% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Shift In Votes | Dhrangadhra | Machine Dalal
Dhrangadhra Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Dhrangadhra | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 87621 votes which decreased to 83219 votes in 2017. INC garnered 70218 votes in 2012 and 97135 votes in 2017. INC dominated the district of Surendranagar in 2017 by winning 4 seats.  BJP scored 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –