Assembly Constituency Watch: Dhenkanal


Dhenkanal assembly constituency is located in Dhenkanal district and consists of:  

Dhenkanal, Gondia block and 9 GPs (Baladiabandha, Baliamba, Beltikiri, Bhaliabolkateni, Bhapur, Chandrasekhar Prasad, Dhirapatana, Gobindpur, Kaimati, Kakudibhag, Kankadahad, Kankadpal, Madhusahupatna, Mangalpur, Manipur, Nadiali, Nagiapasi, Sankarpur, Saptasajya and Talabarkote) of Dhenkanal block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Dhenkanal | Machine Dalal
Dhenkanal Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 232616 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 75.38%, in real numbers- 175352 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 254718 electors, 74.41% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-189545 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Dhenkanal | Machine Dalal
Dhenkanal Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Sudhir Kumar Samal gained a vote share of 47.20% and defeated BJP’s Krushna Chandra Patra whose vote share stood at 36.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Nabin Nanda with 13.10% of vote share and BSP’s Ganeswar Pradhan with 1.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Dhenkanal |Meradesh
Dhenkanal Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Dhenkanal | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Dhenkanal | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 69083 votes and 89536 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 65789 votes in 2014 and 68896 votes in 2019 while INC received 30571 votes in 2014 and 24788 votes in 2019. BSP got 2028 votes in 2014 and 2792 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Dhenkanal in 2019 by winning all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –