Assembly Constituency Watch: Dhanera


Dhanera assembly constituency is located in Banaskantha district and consists of:  

  • Dhanera Taluka 
  • Palanpur Taluka (Part) Village – Jorapura Bhakhar 
  • Dantiwada Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Dhanera | Machine Dalal
Dhanera Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 206586 and the turnout stood at 76.84%, in real numbers- 158733 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 229012 electors, 76.15% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-174383 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Dhanera | Machine Dalal
Dhanera Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Patel Nathabhai Hegolabhai gained a vote share of 47.54% and defeated BJP’s Desai Mavjibhai Maganbhai whose vote share stood at 46.34%. The remaining candidate in the fray were AINHCP’s Rabari Tejabhai Nethibhai with vote share of 1.61% and BSP’s Dabhi Rupabhai Chenabhai with vote share of 1.60%. 

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Shift In Votes | Dhanera | Machine Dalal
Dhanera Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Dhanera | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, INC won the constituency and earned 87460 votes which decreased to 82909 votes in 2017. BJP garnered 57169 votes in 2012 and 80816 votes in 2017. INC dominated the district of Banaskantha in 2017 by winning 5 seats.  BJP scored 3 seats. 1 seat went to Independent Candidate. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –