Assembly Constituency Watch: Dhandhuka


Dhandhuka assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of: 

  • Dhandhuka Taluka 
  • Ranpur Taluka 
  • Barwala Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Dhandhuka | Machine Dalal
Dhandhuka Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 214334 and the turnout stood at 64.61%, in real numbers- 138488 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 245475 electors, 57.74% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a slight jump-141728 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Dhandhuka | Machine Dalal
Dhandhuka Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Gohil Rajeshkumar Harjibhai gained a vote share of 47.61% and defeated BJP’s Dabhi Kalubhai Rupabhai whose vote share stood at 43.43%. The remaining candidate in the fray were CPM’s Gorahava Vinodbhai Shivabhai with vote share of 1.38% and independent candidate Sathaliya Shamjibhai Bhudarbhai with vote share of 1.13%. 

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Shift In Votes | Dhandhuka | Machine Dalal
Dhandhuka Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Dhandhuka | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 77573 votes which decreased to 61557 votes in 2017. INC garnered 49296 votes in 2012 and 67477 votes in 2017. CPM got 1953 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –