Assembly Constituency Watch: Chitrakonda


Chitrakonda assembly constituency is located in Malkangiri district and consists of:  

Balimela, Khairaput block, Kudumulugumma block, Maithili block and 15 Gram panchayats (Chitapari-III, Chitrakonda, Doraguda, Dudameta, Gunthawada, Kamwada, Kapatuti, Mandapali, Mariwada, Nilakamberu, Nuaguda, Old Chimitapali, Potrel, Tarlakota and Tunnel-Camp) of Korukunda block.[ 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Chitrakonda | Machine Dalal
Chitrakonda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 162687 and the turnout stood at 69.71%, in real numbers- 113414 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 188949 electors, 66.06% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-124823 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Chitrakonda | Machine Dalal
Chitrakonda Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Purna Chandra Baka gained a vote share of 33.00% and defeated INC’s Laxmipriya Nayak whose vote share stood at 31.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Padu Majhi with 23.70% of vote share and an independent candidate Balaraju Kope with 5.30 vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chitrakonda |Meradesh
Chitrakonda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chitrakonda | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned48000 votes and 41192 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 23270 votes in 2014 and 38647votes in 2019 while BJP received 17578 votes in 2014 and 29579 votes in 2019. BJD and BJP both managed to win 1 seat each in the district of Malkangiri in the 2019 elections.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –