Assembly Constituency Watch: Chhendipada


Chhendipada assembly constituency is located in Anugul district and consists of:  

Chhendipada block and 12 GPs (Kandasar, Badakerajang, Jarasingha, Kanjara, Karadagadia, Kukudang, Kumand, Kurudol, Sakosingha, Sanakerajang, Tubey and Santrapur) of Banarpal block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Chhendipada | Machine Dalal
Chhendipada Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 186043 and the turnout stood at 74.38%, in real numbers- 138385 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 207423 electors, 78.90% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-163649 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Chhendipada | Machine Dalal
Chhendipada Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Susanta Kumar Behera gained a vote share of 45.80% and defeated BJP’s Agasti Behera whose vote share stood at 41.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sashmita Behera with 10.10% of vote share and BSP’s Sarat Chandra Naik with 0.90% vote share.   

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chhendipada |Meradesh
Chhendipada Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chhendipada | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 62035 votes and 74911 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 52228 votes in 2014 and 16588 votes in 2019 while BJP received 15791 votes in 2014 and 68117 votes in 2019. BSP got 3906 votes in 2014 and 1436 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Anugul in 2019 by winning all 5 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –