Assembly Constituency Watch: Chhatrapur


Chhatrapur assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Chhatrapur, Ganjam, Rambha, Chhatrapur block and Ganjam block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Chhatrapur | Machine Dalal
Chhatrapur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 205841 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout of 67.46%, in real numbers- 138855 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 225907electors, 65.01% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-146857 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Chhatrapur | Machine Dalal
Chhatrapur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Subash Chandra Behera gained a vote share of 50.80% and defeated BJP’s Prasanta Kumar Kar whose vote share stood at 36.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were CPI’s Pradeep Kumar Sethy with 8.70% of vote share and BSP’s Ramahari Behera with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chhatrapur |Meradesh
Chhatrapur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Chhatrapur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 53221 votes and 74594 votes in 2019. On the other hand, CPI garnered 31202 votes in 2014 and 12766 votes in 2019 while BJP received 27511 votes in 2014 and 53543 votes in 2019. BSP got 1715 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats. The remaining 1 seat was secured by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –