Assembly Constituency Watch: Brajarajnagar


Brajarajnagar assembly constituency is located in Jharsuguda district and consists of:  

Brajarajnagar, Belpahar, Lakhanpur block and Jharsuguda block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bramhagiri | Machine Dalal
Brajarajnagar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 190513 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 76.56%, in real numbers- 145851 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 211269 electors, 77.23% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-163158 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bramhagiri | Machine Dalal
Brajarajnagar Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Kishore Kumar Mohanty gained a vote share of 49.10% and defeated BJP’s Radharani Panda whose vote share stood at 42.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were CPI’s Ramesh Tripathi with 5.70% of vote share and BSP’s Sitaram Rohidas with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bramhagiri |Meradesh
Brajarajnagar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bramhagiri | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 50736 votes and 68518 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 43946 votes in 2014 and 80152 votes in 2019 while CPI received 6436 votes in 2014 and 9350 votes in 2019. BSP got 2018 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD won both seats in the district of Jharsuguda in 2019. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –