Assembly Constituency Watch: Bonai


Bonai assembly constituency is located in Sundargarh district and consists of:  

Bonaigarh block, Gurundia block, Lahunipada block and Koida block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bonai | Machine Dalal
Bonai Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 200770 and the turnout stood at 81.28%, in real numbers- 163188 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 220973 electors, 77.02% of voters chose to cast their vote. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-170204 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bonai | Machine Dalal
Bonai Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, CPI (M)’ s Laxman Munda gained a vote share of 35.20% and defeated BJD’s Ranjit Kishan whose vote share stood at 28.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Anil Kumar Barla with 21.90% of vote share and an independent candidate Janardan Dehury with 6.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bonai |Meradesh
Bonai Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bonai |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, CPI (M) won the constituency and earned 39125 votes and 59939 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 37307 votes in 2014 and 47909 votes in 2019 while BJP got 25766 votes in 2014 and 37266 votes in 2019. Overall, BJP emerged as the leading party by winning 3 seats while BJD managed to secure 2 seats in the district of Sundargarh in 2019. CPI (M) and INC both had to be content with 1 seat each. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –