Assembly Constituency Watch: Bolangir


Bolangir assembly constituency is located in Balangir district and consists of:  

Balangir block and Deogaon block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bolangir | Machine Dalal
Bolangir Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 213362 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 72.62%, in real numbers- 154975 voters. 2019 witnessed a negligible decrease in turnout; out of the 237446 electors, 72.40% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-171911 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bolangir | Machine Dalal
Bolangir Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, INC’s Narasingha Mishra gained a vote share of 41.70% and defeated BJD’s Arkesh Narayan Singh whose vote share stood at 38.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Ananta Kumar Dash with 16.80% of vote share and BSP’s Drona Kumbhar with 0.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bolangir |Meradesh
Bolangir Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bolangir |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 61730 votes and 71598 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 49476 votes in 2014 and 66257 votes in 2019 while BJP received 35130 votes in 2014 and 28924 votes in 2019. BSP got 1506 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD and INC both won 2 seats each in the district of Balangir in 2019 while the remaining 1 seat went to BJP.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –