Assembly Constituency Watch: Birmaharajpur


Birmaharajpur assembly constituency is located in Sonapur district and consists of:  

Binika NAC, Birmaharajpur block, Ullunda block and 13 GPs (Babupalli, Bankigirdi, Bausuni, Bhandar, Charda, Kaintara, Mahadevpalli, Meghala, Seledi, Shankara, Silati, Sindurpur and Singhijuba) of Binika block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Birmaharajpur | Machine Dalal
Birmaharajpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 185924 and the turnout stood at 79.23%, in real numbers- 147305 voters. 2019 witnessed a negligible increase in turnout; out of the 209056 electors, 79.31% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-165809 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Birmaharajpur | Machine Dalal
Birmaharajpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Padmanabha Behera gained a vote share of 39.30% and defeated BJP’s Raghunath Jagadala whose vote share stood at 31.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Binod Patra with 24.60% of vote share and an independent candidate Ananda Barik with 1.80% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Birmaharajpur |Meradesh
Birmaharajpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Birmaharajpur |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 67774 votes and 65202 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 36484 votes in 2014 and 52145 votes in 2019 while INC received 34589 votes in 2014 and 40735 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Sonapur in 2019 by winning both seats in contention.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –