Assembly Constituency Watch: Biramitrapur


Biramitrapur assembly constituency is located in Sundargarh district and consists of:  

Biramitrapur, Kuarmunda block, Nuagaon block and part of Bisra block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Biramitrapur | Machine Dalal
Biramitrapur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 212341 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 76.44%, in real numbers- 162315 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 234545 electors, 74.19% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-174019 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Biramitrapur | Machine Dalal
Biramitrapur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Shankar Oram gained a vote share of 35.00% and defeated BJD’s Makhlu Ekka whose vote share stood at 25.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Rohit Joseph Tirkey with 25.40% of vote share and JMM’s Sebeyan Aind with 8.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Biramitrapur |Meradesh
Biramitrapur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Biramitrapur |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 34167 votes and 60937 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 25158 votes in 2014 and 44586 votes in 2019 while INC received 44212 votes in 2019. JMM got 27849 votes in 2014 and 14374 votes in 2019. In the district of Sundargarh BJP emerged triumphant in 3 seats while BJD managed to win 2 seats in 2019. INC and CPI (M) had to settle for 1 seat each.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –