Assembly Constituency Watch: Bhawanipatna


Bhawanipatna assembly constituency is located in Kalahandi district and consists of:  

Bhawanipatna, Kesinga, 25 Gram panchayats (Madiguda, Chahagaon, Karlapada, Chheliamal, Kalam, Karlaguda, Thuapadar, Dadpur, Deypur, Gudialipadar, Kamthana, Kuliamal, Gand-Barajhola, Medinipur, Seinpur, Palsijharan, Udepur, Matia, Borda, Kendupati, Gurujung, Borbhata, Dumuria, Artal and Palana) of Bhawanipatna block and 17GPs (Adhamunda, Balsi, Boria, Chancher, Deogaon, Fatakmal, Gaigaon, Gokuleswar, Kandel, Kikia, Kundabandha, Laitara, Nasigaon, Pastikudi, Patharla, Sirol and Utkela) of Kesinga block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bhawanipatna | Machine Dalal
Bhawanipatna Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 205887 and the turnout stood at 72.46%, in real numbers- 149194 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 229219 electors, 71.05% of voters chose to cast their vote. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-162868 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bhawanipatna | Machine Dalal
Bhawanipatna Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Pradipta Kumar Naik gained a vote share of 38.70% and defeated BJD’S Dusmanta Naik whose vote share stood at 35.80%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sagar Charan Das with 21.80%  of vote share and APOI’s Chandra Mani Mahananda with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhawanipatna |Meradesh
Bhawanipatna Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhawanipatna |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 54825 votes that did increase to 58379 votes in 2019 but votes were insufficient to retain the seat. On the other hand, BJP garnered 32449 votes in 2014 and 63063 votes to win in 2019 while INC received 44011 votes in 2014 and 35494 votes in 2019. APOI got 1875 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Kalahandi in 2019 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat was captured by BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –