Assembly Constituency Watch: Bhanjanagar


 Bhanjanagar assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Bhanjanagar, Bhanjanagar block and Jagannathaprasad block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bhanjanagar | Machine Dalal
Bhanjanagar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 212739 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 68.96%, in real numbers- 146711 voters. 2019 witnessed a negligible decrease in turnout; out of the 230333 electors, 68.10% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-156861 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bhanjanagar | Machine Dalal
Bhanjanagar Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Bikram Keshari Arukha gained a vote share of 49.00% and defeated BJP’s Pradyumna Kumar Nayak whose vote share stood at 43.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sanjay Kumar Tripathy with 4.50% of vote share and BSP’s Narasingha Gouda with 1.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhanjanagar |Meradesh
Bhanjanagar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhanjanagar |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 82467 votes and 76879 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 50766 votes in 2014 and 7069 votes in 2019 while BJP received 7834 votes in 2014 and 67776 votes in 2019. BSP got 2915 votes in the 2019 elections. Overall, BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –