Assembly Constituency Watch: Bhandaripokhari


Bhandaripokhare assembly constituency is located in Bhadrak district and consists of:  

Bhandaripokhari block and Bonth block 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bhandaripokhari | Machine Dalal
Bhandaripokhari Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 201971 and the turnout stood at 76.74%, in real numbers- 154995 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 227803 electors, 75.86% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-172804 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bhandaripokhari | Machine Dalal
Bhandaripokhari Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Prafulla Samal  gained a vote share of 40.60% and defeated INC’s Niranjan Patnaik whose vote share stood at 35.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Badri Narayan Dhal with 22.70% of vote share and BSP’s Rajiba Lochan Jena with 0.40% vote share.   

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhandaripokhari |Meradesh
Bhandaripokhari Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhandaripokhari |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 70173 votes and 70180 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 36076 votes in 2014 and 61321 votes in 2019 while BJP received 28809 votes in 2014 and 39141 votes in 2019. BSP got 600 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Bhadrak in 2019 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat was won by BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –