Assembly Constituency Watch: Berhampur


Berhampur assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Ward no. 1 to ward no. 24 of Brahmapur Municipal Corporation. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Berhampur | Machine Dalal
Berhampur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 183059 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout of 62.36%, in real numbers- 114155 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 211189 electors, 55.79% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a slight jump-117816 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Berhampur | Machine Dalal
Berhampur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, Bikram Kumar Panda gained a vote share of 57.80% and defeated BJP’s Kanhu Charan Pati whose vote share stood at 27.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were independent candidate Siva Shankar Das with 8.30% vote share and INC’s Lingaraj Choudhury with 4.60% of vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Berhampur |Meradesh
Berhampur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Berhampur |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 43211 votes that increased to 68113 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 42172 votes in 2014 and 5381 votes in 2019 while BJP received 24092 votes in 2014 and 32629 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 7 seats. The remaining 1 seat was scored by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –