Assembly Constituency Watch: Begunia


Begunia assembly constituency is located in Khorda district and consists of:  

Begunia block and Bologarh block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Begunia | Machine Dalal
Begunia Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 195026 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 73.71%, in real numbers- 143761 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 215247 electors, 71.83% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-154602 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Begunia | Machine Dalal
Begunia Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Rajendra Kumar Sahoo gained a vote share of 47.30 % and defeated INC’s Pradeep Kumar Sahoo whose vote share stood at 34.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Rhishav Nanda with 17.00% of vote share and independent candidate Rudra Narayan Bahinipati with 0.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Begunia |Meradesh
Begunia Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Begunia |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 73984 votes and 73178 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 20689 votes in 2014 and 53130 votes in 2019 while BJP got 10611 votes in 2014 and 26321 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Khorda in 2019 by winning 7 seats. The remaining 1 seat was won by INC.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –