Assembly Constituency Watch: Becharaji


Becharaji constituency is situated in Mahesana district and consists of- 

Becharaji Taluka 

Mahesana Taluka (Part) Villages – Ajabpura, Aloda, Ambasan, Baliyasan, Balol, Bamosana, Bhasariya, Bhesana, Bodla, Boriavi, Buttapaldi, Chhathiyarda, Davada, Deloli, Devinapura, Dhanpura, Divanpura (Apapura), Gamanpura, Ghadha, Gilosan, Gokalpura, Gorad, Hardesan, Haripura, Harsundal, Heduva-Rajgar, Hinglajpura, Ijpura Barot, Ijpura Jethaji, Jagudan, Jakasna, Jotana, Kanpura, Karshanpura, Kasalpura, Katosan, Khadalpur, Khara, Kharsada, Laxmipura, Linch, Maguna, Manknaj, Mareda, Martoli, Memadpura, Mevad, Mitha, Modipur, Motidau, Mudarda, Nadasa, Nanidau, Nugar, Palaj, Palodar, Panchot, Piludara, Rampura (Katosan), Ramosana, Ranipura, Rupal, Sakhpurda, Sametra, Santhal, Sidosan, Sobhasan, Tejpura, Tundali, Vadosan, Virsoda, Virta. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout Trend | Becharaji | Machinr Dalal
Becharaji Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors were 2,03,089 and the turnout stood at 75.46%, in real numbers- 1,53,245 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 2,33,171 eligible electors, 71.15% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-1,65,911 voters.   

Representation and Results 

Party Wise Vote Share | Becharaji | Machinr Dalal
Becharaji Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Thakor Sonaji gained a vote share of 48.76% and defeated BJP’s Patel Somabhai whose vote share stood at 39.23%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Patel Dahyabhai with 6.11 % vote share. 2.17% votes were under NOTA. 

Voting History -2012 & 2017

Shift In Votes | Becharaji | Machinr Dalal
Bardoli Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Becharaji | Machinr Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 68,447 votes which reduced to 65,083 votes in 2017. INC garnered 58,777 votes in 2012 and 59920 votes in 2017.  BJP dominated the district of Surat by winning 15 seats and the remaining one was scored by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities. 

Data Source –