Assembly Constituency Watch: Basudevpur


Basudevpur assembly constituency is located in Bhadrak district and consists of:  

Basudevpur, Basudevpur block and 7 GPs (Bhatapada, Saya, Bahabalpur, Sindol, Kolha, Mukundapur and Maharampur) of Tihidi block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Basudevpur | Machine Dalal
Basudevpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 220800 and the constituency witnessed 75.82% of polling, in real numbers- 167413 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 251819 electors, 73.71% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-185611 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Basudevpur | Machine Dalal
Basudevpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Bishnubrata Routray gained a vote share of 42.50% and defeated INC’s Ashok Kumar Das whose vote share stood at 37.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Madhabananda Mallick with 19.30% of vote share and BSP’s Nirmal Malik with 0.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Basudevpur |Meradesh
Basudevpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Basudevpur |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 77781 votes and 78963 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 71275 votes in 2014 and 69382votes in 2019 while BJP received 15339 votes in 2014 and 35777 votes in 2019. BSP got 579 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Bhadrak in 2019 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –