Assembly Constituency Watch: Basta


Basta assembly constituency is located in Baleshwar district and consists of:  

Baliapal block and 11 GPs (Mukulishi, Brahmanda, Sadanandapur, Baharda, Rautpada, Mathani, Sahada, Naikudi, Gadapada, Darada and Irda) of Basta block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Basta | Machine Dalal
Basta Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 202180 and the turnout stood at 79.59%, in real numbers- 160922 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 226941 electors, 75.14% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-170516 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Basta | Machine Dalal
Basta Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Nityananda Sahoo gained a vote share of 42.10% and defeated INC’s Bijan Nayak whose vote share stood at 35.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Raghunath Mohanty with 21.60% of vote share and AITC’s Nandan Pal with 0.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Basta |Meradesh
Basta Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Basta |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 76737 votes and 71737 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 70304 votes in 2014 and 59873 votes in 2019 while BJP received 11165 votes in 2014 and 36874 votes in 2019. AITC got 690 votes in 2014 and 642 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Baleshwar in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJP emerged victorious in the remaining 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –