Assembly Constituency Watch: Barchana


Barchana assembly constituency is located in Jajpur district and consists of:  

Barachana block 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Barchana | Machine Dalal
Barchana Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 164840 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 76.90%, in real numbers- 126760 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 184545 electors, 74.20% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-136940 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Barchana | Machine Dalal
Barchana Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Amar Prasad Satpathy gained a vote share of 46.80% and defeated BJP’s Amar Kumar Nayak whose vote share stood at 45.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Ajay Kumar Samal with 6.80% of vote share and BSP’s Umakanta Malik with 0.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Barchana |Meradesh
Barchana Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Barchana |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 53322 votes and 64084 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 36383 votes in 2014 and 9322 votes in 2019 while BJP received 62599 votes in 2019. BSP got 380 in the 2019 assembly elections. BJD clean swept the district of Jajpur in 2019 assembly elections by winning all 7 seats.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –