Assembly Constituency Watch: Baliguda


Baliguda assembly constituency is located in Kandhamal district and consists of:  

Baliguda, Baliguda block, K. Nuagaon block, Kotagarh block and Tumudibandh block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Baliguda | Machine Dalal
Baliguda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 137346 and the turnout stood at 73.50%, in real numbers- 100944 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 155806 electors, 69.69% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-108584 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Baliguda | Machine Dalal
Baliguda Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Chakramani Kanhar gained a vote share of 39.80% and defeated INC’s Siman Maliick whose vote share stood at 33.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Karendra Majhi with 23.20% vote share and BMUP’s Jayasingh Mallick with 1.40 of % of vote share. 

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Baliguda |Meradesh
Baliguda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Baliguda |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 37606 votes that increased to 43175 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 34910 votes in 2014 and 36265 votes in 2019 while BJP received 18103 votes in 2014 and 25217 votes in 2019. BMUP got 1566 votes in 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Kandhamal in 2019 by winning all 3 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –