Assembly Constituency Watch: Balasinor

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors were 2,33,459 and the turnout stood at 74.39%, in real numbers- 1,73,668 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 2,58,931 electors, 67.08% of voters exercised their constitutional rights which convert to 1,73,688 voters.   

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Ajitsinh Chauhan gained a vote share of 48.72% and defeated BJP’s Chauhan Kohyabhai whose vote share stood at 42.62%. The remaining candidate in the fray was NCP’s Patel Baldevbhai with 3.44 % vote share. 2.15% votes were under NOTA. 

In 2012, INC won the constituency and earned 87,088 votes which increased to 84,620 votes in 2017. BJP garnered 69,917 votes in 2012 and 74018 votes in 2017. NCP received 2028 votes in 2012, and 5974 in 2017 

 In the district of Mahi Sagar, every party received a single seat- BJP, NCP & INC.