Assembly Constituency Watch: Athagarh


Athagarh assembly constituency is located in Cuttack district and consists of:  

Athagad NAC, Athagarh Block, Tigiria Block and 6 Gram panchayats (Kakhadi, Sankarpur, Badasamantarapur, Mangarajpur, Mahisalanda and Brahmapur) of Tangi-Chowdwar Block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Athagarh | Machine Dalal
Athagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 183760 and the turnout stood at 80.11%, in real numbers- 147212 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 203766 electors, 79.30% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-161579 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Athagarh | Machine Dalal
Athagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Ranendra Pratap Swain gained a vote share of 60.70% and defeated BJP’s Brajendra Kumar Ray whose vote share stood at 24.80%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Uma Ballav Rath with a vote share of 6.80% and an independent candidate Abhaya Kumar Barik with a 6.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Athagarh |Meradesh
Athagarh Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Athagarh | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 102605 votes and 98114 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 34118 votes in 2014 and 10945 votes in 2019 while BJP received 7132 votes in 2014 and 40119 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Cuttack in 2019 by winning 8 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –