Assembly Constituency Watch: Anjar

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors were 1,91,018 and the turnout stood at 72%, in real numbers- 1,37,529 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 2,29,528 electors, 68.30% of voters exercised their constitutional rights which convert to 1,56,769 voters.   

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Ahir Gopalbhai gained a vote share of 48.05% and defeated INC’s V.K Humbal whose vote share stood at 40.84%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Veera Samantbhai with 2.98% vote share. 2.3% votes were under NOTA. 

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 64,789 votes which increased to 75,000 votes in 2017. INC garnered 60,061 votes in 2012 and 64018 votes in 2017. In the district of Kutch, BJP emerged dominant by winning 4 seats with 66.7% votes and INC came second with 33.3% votes and 2 seats.