Assembly Constituency Watch: Anand

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors were 2,31,778 and the turnout stood at 73.93%, in real numbers- 1,71,360 voters. The 2017 elections witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 2,83,123 electors, 69.54% of voters exercised their constitutional rights which convert to 1,96,895 voters.    

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Kantibhai Sodhaparmar gained a vote share of 49.86% and defeated BJP’s Yogesh Patel whose vote share stood at 47.17%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Dave Dineshchandra with 0.51% vote share- far lower than 1.34% votes under NOTA.  

In 2012, INC earned 81,969 votes which increased to 98,168 votes in 2017. BJP received 82,956 votes in 2012 and 92882 votes in 2017.   

In the district of Amreli, INC emerged dominant by winning 5 seats, with 71.4% vote share, and BJP gained 2 seats with 28.6% vote share.